I Want A Better Me

by Vonda Howard

cosmetic surgery

Dear Vonda,

I have been contemplating cosmetic surgery for a while now and think I’m ready to “make the jump”.  However, my family (mom and sisters) constantly tell me that I shouldn’t do it and I am “beautiful the way I am”.  Give me a break! I have battled with my weight for years (something they never had to deal with) and finally got down to a size that I am happy with.  I feel like it is about time that I got some of those stares and cat calls from guys!  Every woman likes a bit of attention from the opposite sex every now and then.  It’s my turn!  What do you think?

I Want A Better Me

Dear I want A Better Me,

First let me say congratulations on your wining your weight battle.  That takes a lot of courage, patience and discipline to accomplish.  You should be very proud of your success!

Now, there are some varied opinions on cosmetic surgery.  Some think that we all should leave our bodies the way God made them, and others don’t think there is anything wrong with a little “nip and tuck” here and there.  Me?  I personally think there is nothing wrong with a woman (or a man) doing things to themselves that make them feel better.  AS LONG AS IT’S FOR YOU AND NO ONE ELSE.  Cosmetic surgery is a very serious and most times permanent decision that should not be taken lightly.  Having surgery for the sole reason of getting more attention from others is not a good reason.  So, my advice to you would be to really, and truly make sure that you are having the surgery for the right reasons.  After all, the REAL changes should be made inside you before you work on the outward.

A side note:  Make sure that you are using a board certified surgeon!  Don’t be ashamed to ask for proof of credentials and references!  You can visit www.americanboardcosmeticsurgery.org to search for doctors and get more info about what your options are for your procedures.

Good luck!!

Vonda

About the Author: Vonda Howard is the author of the new hot book series, The D-Cup Divas™, a graphic designer of her own graphic design firm, Cupcake Creative Studio, mom to two, wife to her one and only and a domestic goddess (not really…LOL). She does not profess to be an expert, but just that one opinionated girlfriend you go to for the straight nitty-gritty. So just relax and enjoy. ;o) Do you have a question? Send it to this address:heyvonda@thedcupdivas.com and you may get featured!

Leave a Reply

