Real Thanksgiving: A Fat Guy’s Guide to Living Graciously

by M Stagg | The Voluptua Project™

thanksgiving fam

It’s that time of year again! It seems that everyone is gearing up in preparation for Christmas and Thanksgiving festivities. Before I go on my rant, let me be clear: I have nothing against celebrating any of these or any other holidays! If it’s your thing, hey, more power to you! Now, with that mentioned, I’ll continue.

Why I’m not a fan of Christmas and Thanksgiving

Again, I have nothing against the idea behind these and other holiday (holy days?) traditions. My thing is, how is it that the idea behind the day is only a one time thing. What I mean is, why is it that we focus all our Thanksgiving on a single day in November instead of all year round? The same goes for Christmas. Shouldn’t people be celebrating the birth of Jesus every day of their lives? Doesn’t it make better sense to show the one you love how much they mean to you every day and not just on February 14th?

I know there are some of you out there that go out of your way to live thankfully, love wholeheartedly and give graciously all the time. Awesome! Keep up the great work and continue to lead by example. Still, I know a few people that I only hear from a few weeks before a major holiday so that their “on my mind” when it’s time to make my gift list. Needless to say, they gets nada! 🙂 But seriously, who does that?! I try to instill in my kids the importance of being helpful and thankful on a daily basis – and, more importantly, to do so without needing something in return.

I know some of you may be thinking it’s easier said than done. Well, here are a few suggestions that I’ve been thinking about or have been using over the years.

Real Thanksgiving Tips

  • Discuss the real reason for the season: Take time to research and share the true meaning of Christmas and Thanksgiving (Or Hanukah, or Kwanza, etc.) with family and friends and help them understand that these ideals are meant to be practiced everyday, not just during the holidays.
  • Create a Gratitude or Thanksgiving Calendar: I’m working on this one now. I am writing down 365 reasons why I should be thankful that will go on a calendar. Each day I will have a reason and/or affirmation why I should be grateful that I can contemplate (and share!) throughout the day!
  • Develop your own traditions: You don’t have to celebrate only the holidays that are listed on the calendar. Get with family and friends and create your own special day (or week, or month) to really focus in on what matters. Then remember to take what you learned and shared and apply it to your every day lives.
  • Volunteer to feed the homeless: This is something I’d like to begin doing this year as well. You want to learn about gratitude and humility while helping those in need then this is a great way to do it. Again, don’t just do it during the holidays; volunteer whenever you can.

Those are a few of the ideas I came up with for living graciously everyday. If you can think of any others feel free to share them in the comments; I’m very interested in what you come up with! 🙂

2 Comments to “Real Thanksgiving: A Fat Guy’s Guide to Living Graciously”

  1. Great post! I love your idea about a gratitude calendar. I’m actually trying (with my blog) to perform one random act of kindness per day throughout this holiday season to see if it can help lift my holiday spirits. It seems to be helping! Have a wonderful holiday season!

Leave a Reply

