A Love Song

by Donya B
Love Song (Riya album)

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been a writer for as many years as I can remember.  I’ve run rampant through countless pages of prose and poetry, releasing whatever was nagging at my conscience.  Today, I share with you one of my favorites because I know someone out there is feeling these things but doesn’t know how to tell him that.  Enjoy.

[Note: This is intended to be a song, but i have no music writing talent. If you hear a song while you’re reading it, let me know…]

I want to put into words all the things I feel for him.
Tell him how he lights up my life with his smile.
I want to do what I have to do to keep him satisfied
Tell him that for him, I’d always go the extra mile.
I want him to know that my world revolves around his heart,
That his very being is my embracing sun.
I want him to know that without him my house is not a home
But I am complete when he and I are one.

I taste sunshine in his laughter,
Feel comfort in his eyes
Hear the weight of the world as he lifts it off my shoulders
He is love, my love with no compromise.

These are the things I would tell him
The things I would tell him right or wrong
These are the things that I want to tell you
But this, this is not your love song.

It’s not your song because you don’t want to hear it
You don’t want to know the love I have for you
Time and again you tell me you’re not ready for this
But I don’t think your words are true to you.
You love love, you prize love like it’s the Holy Grail,
A perfect treasure, always to be sought but never attained.
You know you want everything that love can offer
But it was love lost that left your heart so deeply stained.

You want to feel her beside you in the morning,
Kiss her lips as you fall asleep at night
You want to know that she’s there for you through it all,
Like when you just need someone, that someone to hold you tight.

But these things you say you don’t want right now
And the time until you do may be long.
You’re not ready in yourself to accept the love you think you want,
So this, this is not your love song.

I can be the she you need me to be
Just like you could be the man I need today
But what I can’t be is put on hold, confined as undefined
Laden under your perpetual wait.
It would fulfill me to walk beside you
Helping you become the god you’re destined to be
But I can only complete that journey
If you were to be the same compliment to me.

And though I know I could make you so happy
And I know I’d love my life with you,
I know your pride is unwilling to let you love
So I can’t let my life go by loving you.

So many dreams I want to share with him
Dreams enough to last 2000 years long
But these dreams, these hopes, I cannot share with you
Because this, this is can’t be your love song.

And I know how much you care for me
That your desire for love is true and strong.
But until you can love you enough to love me right
You know that this can’t be
This won’t be
This is not your love song.

Two,

Ms. De

Melodic Truffle: To love someone else shows a weakness, but loving yourself is strength.

About Donya:

Donya Vaughn is a So Cal native, collegiate of San Diego State University and graduate of the University of Life, mastering in “Wow, That Was Harder Than It Needed To Be”. Known to her close friends as “The Walking Encyclopedia”, Donya prides herself in being helpful, knowledgeable and ready to serve. She uses these traits along with unwavering optimism and Christian good spirit regularly as owner and consultant of As You Like… Wedding & Event Services.

Leave a Reply

