I Call Him “Daddy” Too

by Vonda Howard

hurtHey Vonda,

I truly hope my question gets chosen, because I really have a problem I could use your help on.

I have a friend that I have been close to since we were in the fifth grade. We even call each other sisters. We do everything together; we’ve cried together, we’ve been through some serious times in each other’s lives and some of the happiest. I would never, ever want to hurt her, but how do I tell her that I have been sleeping with her dad for the past 6 months?

I’ll let you digest that for a moment.

Now, this has was not anything that was planned, or even thought about before six months ago. Things kind of just happened. I mean, I have always thought her dad was a very attractive older man, but never even thought about doing anything with him until now. We are both consenting adults and neither one of us are attached, so why should it be a problem? Besides, I really think I love him. In fact, I KNOW I love him and he has even told me he loves me too. He has wanted to tell her for a while now, but I just haven’t had the nerve to do it. She even suspects that he is seeing someone, and wonders why he hasn’t introduced her yet.

What do I do, Vonda? I don’t want to hurt my very best friend in the whole world, but I don’t want to lose (what I feel) is the love of my life either! I need your help!

Sincerely,

I Call Him “Daddy” Too

Dear I Call Him Daddy Too,

You are in a bit of a jam, aren’t you? I think I can help you figure this out with no problem. It’s simple…tell her the truth.

You said that you guys were or have been friends since you were in the fifth grade, then you should be able to go to her and talk to her about this. Honestly, there is no serious violations here outside of the fact that you have been lying to her for the past six months. Which is dead wrong. This should have been addressed in the beginning. If you saw something special developing between you and her dad, then you as her best friend should have went to her and talked about it. She may have been okay with it, you will never know. Unfortunately, now you have added a bit of a cloud over what you have described as a relationship that is filled with true love as a underhanded and dishonest act.

Yes, she may be totally against you being with her father, I mean, HE’S HER FATHER. You are going to have to decide in the end, which relationship is more important to you. The best friend you call your sister and have been friends with her since elementary school, or the new relationship that is really still in the honeymoon phase, that could lead to something more serious? What happens if there is a nasty breakup? Are you prepare to lose BOTH of them?

Honestly, the fact that you hid it and didn’t go to her in the beginning kind of tells you what is right and what is wrong here. If you feel that this relationship is worth possible losing you best friend then I say go for it, but again, the choice ultimately remains with you.

Good luck!

Vonda

About the Author: Vonda Howard is the author of the new hot book series, The D-Cup Divas™, a graphic designer of her own graphic design firm, Cupcake Creative Studio, mom to two, wife to her one and only and a domestic goddess (not really…LOL). She does not profess to be an expert, but just that one opinionated girlfriend you go to for the straight nitty-gritty. So just relax and enjoy. ;o) Do you have a question? Send it to this address:heyvonda@thedcupdivas.com and you may get featured!

Leave a Reply

