An Intro to Donya’s Relatables

by Donya B
Donya Vaughn

Introducing Donya "Ms. De" Vaughn of As You Like...

Blessings and Greetings All!

I am tickled as punch to be able to flex my writing skills and relationship knowledge in this, my little corner of The Voluptua Project.  For the most part, I’ll just prattle on with some interesting insight or witty repertoire, but sometimes, I will actually get into some serious topics.  That’s totally up to you.  I welcome any questions you’d like for me to discuss; just email me or drop me a line on Facebook!

My “Credentials”

What makes me an expert at relationships?  What makes anyone an expert at anything?  Experience.  You can read books till the cows come home, but unless you’re a bull, that will do you no good.  Life makes experts.  And as noted below, I am an honors graduate of the University of Life.  My masters thesis was titled, Relationships: The Good, The Bad and The What the Hell Were You Thinking? Synopsis: I’ve self-sabotaged perfectly good relationships, nurtured those that should have been put to sleep, stuck my nose into plenty that I shouldn’t have and been ignored by some that I wanted.  I’ve written five novels (unpublished still…) about the ups and downs, do’s and don’ts, bright and dark sides of relationships in detail and emotion so real it’s unnerving.  All based on past experience.  But finally, as of right now and hopefully the rest of my life, I am in a phenomenal relationship with a wonderful and loving man.  No, I won’t beleaguer you with my sappy stories, that’s gross.  But I will tell you real love can and does still happen.

How I know real love exists

It’s my business.  I’m a professional, certified wedding planner.  My job is to turn the dreams and fantasies in the minds of lovestruck brides into concrete realities that don’t drive her groom or family mad.  I believe in true love not just because the hopeless romantic in me refuses not to, but because it makes my profession make sense.  Find me a planner that doesn’t believe in love and I’ll show you one that is strictly in it for the money and doesn’t give a rat’s aorta about her clients.

How I Define Relationships

A relationship is an emotional or other connection between people, right? So we’re also free to explore mother-daughter, father-son, co-worker, cellmate, parent-child or any other kind of relationship you can think of.  Because if you consider it, every relationship you are, have been or will be in has something in common – You (Including your relationship with yourself).  So relationships are all about you.

If there is any truffle to savor out of this week’s box, it’s this: If you want successful, loving, memorable, engaging relationships, you need to have one with yourself first.  Love you for who, what and how you are and everything else will eventually fall into place.

Two,

Ms. De

About Donya: Donya Vaughn is a So Cal native, collegiate of San Diego State University and graduate of the University of Life, mastering in “Wow, That Was Harder Than It Needed To Be”. Known to her close friends as “The Walking Encyclopedia”, Donya prides herself in being helpful, knowledgeable and ready to serve. She uses these traits along with unwavering optimism and Christian good spirit regularly as owner and consultant of As You Like… Wedding & Event Services.

One Comment to “An Intro to Donya’s Relatables”

  1. Thanks Ms.De! Awesome insight on relationships. As a man I could feel what you are saying and that’s awesomeI We all need a few words from time to time.:) Will be looking out for more articles.

    Jeff Everett / CEO
    TechCom 360 Communications LLC.
    http://www.TechCom360.com

Leave a Reply

