What’s Size Got to Do With It?

by M Stagg | The Voluptua Project™

Velvet d'Amour

Image Credit: Velvet d'Amour

[This post was inspired by an article on Squidoo.com about Velvet d’Amour.]

Greetings Voluptua Tribe!

Ladies (or Gents), how many times have you been asked how much you weigh? What’s your dress (pant) size? What makes you think you can fit that? You know the drill.

I know how I feel when I’ve walked into a clothing store and get odd stares and giggles from the staff. I would imagine that the experience is significantly worse for the fairer sex.

In the article mentioned above plus model Velvet d’Amour was asked about her weight to which she replied:

“While I have often answered this question, I am admittedly perturbed by it. By virtue of being plus size I am thusly expected to tout my health, yet my smaller counterparts, be it in contemporary dance, or film, or in fashion, are never asked the state of their health. I do not drink alcohol and I never have, I do not take drugs and I never have, I do not smoke and I never have, yet many of these same counterparts do one, or a combination of all of the above, and yet merely by virtue of weighing less then I, are completely excluded from this patronizing question.”

What’s really odd is there have been instances where the people asking the size question (or giving the judgmental glances) have been overweight themselves. What’s up with that?! As Velvet points out, there probably isn’t a single skinny individual who has had to endure such ridicule and scrutiny so why should larger people have to.

What do you think? When it comes to clothes shopping (or any activity), is it OK for someone to ask you what your size/weight is or should they step off and let you be you? Sound off!

One Comment to “What’s Size Got to Do With It?”

  1. The only time someone should be asking my size is when they are picking out clothing for me! No one should ever ask someone how much they weigh, how rude!

Leave a Reply

